About Mayor’s Office

Mayor Adler

Mayor Steve Adler was elected to office in November 2014 and will serve his term from January 6, 2015, to January 6, 2019. Mayor Adler is the 52nd mayor of the City of Austin and the first to serve under the new 10-ONE form of City Council.

Mayor Adler believes in upholding Austin’s values while also leading it into the future, from small town to global city. He is constantly identifying new opportunities for collaboration that will give everyone a voice while also creating the most innovative and effective solutions. Mayor Adler believes in bold actions to achieve bold goals, and that Austin is ready for a new way forward.

Learn more about Mayor Steve Adler.

contact by email 

Mayor’s Staff

Lesley Varghese
Chief of Staff/Attorney
Municipal Court, City Attorney, Human Resources, Asian American Community Liaison
512-978-2217
Lesley.Varghese@austintexas.gov 

Barbara Shack
Scheduler/Executive Assistant to the Mayor
Scheduling and appearance requests, Building Services, LGBTQ Community Liaison
512-978-2122
Barbara.Shack@austintexas.gov

John-Michael V. Cortez
Special Assistant to the Mayor
Advises on Land Development Code Rewrite & Affordable Housing, Intergovernmental Relations, Workforce Development, and Mobility: (Mobility Bond Implementation, Regional Planning, Austin Transportation Department, Aviation, Fleet, Public Works, Corridor Program Implementation Office, Capital Contracting, Project Systems Intelligence), Hispanic Community Liaison
512-978-2130
John-Michael.Cortez@austintexas.gov 

Sly Majid
Chief Services Officer
Advises on Veterans’ Issues, Innovation Office, Communications and Technology Management, Sustainability Office, Downtown Austin Community Court, Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs, Communications and Technology Management, US Conference of Mayors
512-978-2137
Sly.Majid@austintexas.gov

Kazique Prince
Senior Policy Advisor
Education Coordinator, Equity Issues, Institutional Racism Task Force, Community Schools Liaison, My Brother’s Keeper Liaison, Public Information Requests African American Community Liaison
512-978-2125
Kazique.Prince@austintexas.gov

Communications Team
Anita Price
Communications Director
512-978-2153
Anita.Price@austintexas.gov

Gloria Chin
Press Secretary
All media requests
(512) 978-2129
Gloria.Chin@austintexas.gov 

Janine Clark
Director of Community Engagement
Community Engagement, Public Relations Requests, Mayor’s Corporate Engagement Council, Internships, Boards & Commissions, Constituent Relations
512-978-2216
Janine.Clark@austintexas.gov

City Council Agenda Team
Ashley Fisher
Senior Policy Advisor
Manages Council Meeting and Council Affairs, Advises on Planning and Zoning, Development Services, Land Development Code Rewrite, Permitting Reform, Austin Energy, Austin Water, Health & Environment and Culture & Lifelong Learning (Austin Resource Recovery, Animal Services, Austin Public Library), City Clerk’s Office, Safety (Austin Code), Government that Works for All (Human Resources, Child Care & pre-K)
512-978-2333
Ashley.Fisher@austintexas.gov

Michael McGill
Senior Policy Advisor
Advises on Homelessness, Health & Environment and Culture & Lifelong Learning (Parks and Recreation, Austin Public Health), Safety (Police, Fire, EMS), Economic Opportunity & Affordability (Economic Development, Neighborhood Housing & Community Development, Small & Minority Business Resources, Real Estate Services, Austin Convention Center), Audit, Finance & Budget, Music & Creative Arts
512-978-2155
Michael.McGill@austintexas.gov