About Mayor’s Office

Mayor Adler

Mayor Steve Adler was elected to office in November 2014 and will serve his term from January 6, 2015, to January 6, 2019. Mayor Adler is the 52nd mayor of the City of Austin and the first to serve under the new 10-ONE form of City Council.

Mayor Adler believes in upholding Austin’s values while also leading it into the future, from small town to global city. He is constantly identifying new opportunities for collaboration that will give everyone a voice while also creating the most innovative and effective solutions. Mayor Adler believes in bold actions to achieve bold goals, and that Austin is ready for a new way forward.

Learn more about Mayor Steve Adler.

contact by email 

Mayor’s Staff

Lesley Varghese
Chief of Staff
Economic Development, Public Safety (Code Department, Fire Department, Police Department, Emergency Medical Services, Office of Medical Director, Community Court, Homeland Security and Emergency Management), Small and Minority Business Resources Department, Asian American Community Liaison
512-978-2123
Lesley.Varghese@austintexas.gov

John-Michael V. Cortez
Special Assistant to the Mayor
Transportation, CodeNEXT & Affordable Housing, Intergovernmental Relations, Workforce Development, Mobility Bond Implementation, Regional Planning, Public Works, Corridor Program Implementation Office, Permitting Reform , Hispanic Community Liaison
512-978-2130
john-michael.cortez@austintexas.gov

Barbara Shack
Scheduler/Executive Assistant to the Mayor
Scheduling and appearance requests, Building Services, LGBTQ Community Liaison
512-978-2122
Barbara.shack@austintexas.gov

Jason Stanford
Communications Director
Media requests, Public Information Office
512-978-2153  (direct)
512-619-5756  (cell)
Jason.stanford@austintexas.gov

Sly Majid
Chief Services Officer
Veterans Issues, Homelessness, Innovation Office, Communications and Technology Management
512-978-2137
sly.majid@austintexas.gov

Ashley Fisher
Senior Policy Advisor
Agenda/Council Affairs, Austin Energy, Fleet Services, Zoning, Development Services
512-978-2333
Ashley.Fisher@austintexas.gov

Michael McGill
Senior Policy Advisor

Agenda/Council Affairs, Audit, Finance & Budget, Music & Creative Arts, Austin Convention Center, Austin Water, Labor Relations Office, Parks and Recreation, Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs,  Economic Development, Public Safety
512-978-2155
Michael.mcgill@austintexas.gov

Kazique Prince
Senior Policy Advisor
Education Coordinator, Spirit of East Austin, Equity Issues, Institutional Racism Task Force, Community Schools Liaison, My Brother’s Keeper Liaison, Office of Police Monitor, African American Community Liaison
512-978-2125
kazique.prince@austintexas.gov

Janine Clark
Policy Aide
Agenda/Council Affairs, Boards & Commissions, Constituent Relations, Neighborhood Housing and Community Development, Environmental Affairs, Watershed Protection Department, Animal Services, Public Health, Public Library, Office of Real Estate Services, PIR Oversight
512-978-2216
Janine.clark@austintexas.gov